Results of the 3…2…1…DANCE!

Results of the 3…2…1…DANCE!

After watching 11 dance presentations on the 24th of March 2018, the jury composed of Małgorzata Haduch, Gwyn Emberton, Jacek Przybyłowicz and Agata Moląg decided to award the following prizes in the 3…2…1…DANCE! choreographic competition – edition 2018:

Małgorzta Haduch awarded:

The 1st prize (500 EUR) to Jarosław Mysona for “STONEWALL INN”.

For thinking through all choreographic elements, taking the risk in terms of the piece’s composition and full expression.

The 2nd prize (300 EUR) to Zuzanna Pruska and Yoh Morishita for “COSMO”.

For setting out on a journey to discover their own choreographic voice on stage and for a soundtrack that was well thought out in relation to choreography.

Gwyn Emberton awarded:

The 1st prize (500 EUR) to Jakub Lewandowski for “Melancholy”

For: The piece allowed me to go on a journey. It created a narrative for me that was consistent and the humour was great to see. It was well thought through with well executed movement language. I felt the piece was considered and right for the performer. The piece brought everything from character, costume, props that made the piece whole. Also it was very well performed and directed. It raised questions about the role of the male choreographer and female dancer. (However I felt it had no relationship with the description).

The 2nd prize (300 EUR) to Jarosław Mysona for “STONEWALL INN”.

For: Structurally I thought it was well developed and created a real sense that it had a through line. The beginning led to the end and I felt I understood the choices made. The ending was slightly weaker than that of my first choice. Movement language was purposeful and made sense for the piece. The politics of the work are really important and necessary.

Jacek Przybyłowicz awarded:

The 1st prize (500 EUR) to Marta Jakimicha and Paulina Spiel for “harMOnizatTION”.

For an original and mature form of artistic expression on stage and a consistent dramatic structure.

The 2nd prize (300 EUR) to Jakub Lewandowski for “Melancholy”.

For an intelligent dramatic narration that combined elements of physical theatre and dance.

Agata Moląg awarded:

the special award – participation in workshops during Contemporary Dance Festival SPACER 2018 to Marta Jakimicha and Paulina Spiel for “harMOnizaTION”.

For the youthful energy, freshness and courage in taking up physical challenges on a high technical level.

The Organizer decided to award Grand Prix of 400 EUR to Zuzanna Pruska and Yoh Morishita for “COSMO”.


Audience award of 300 EUR was given to Paulina Będkowska and Monika Małycha for „No, where”.